In review, Gohar Vardanyan, Ann Arbor, MI, April 10, 2011

Ms Gohar Vardanyan will be performing a solo recital in Ann Arbor Michigan as part of the Ann Arbor Classical Guitar Society’s Artist Series. Ms Vardanyan studied guitar with Manuel Barrueco, Sharon Isbin and Antigoni Goni.  She holds degrees from Peabody Conservatory and the Juilliard School.

When: April 10, 2011, Sunday, 3 pm

Where: Kresge Hall on the Madonna University Campus, 36600 Schoolcraft Rd. (at Levan), Livonia MI

Cost: $20 General Admission, $15 Guitar Society Members, $10 Students

 

Q & A with Ms Vardanyan

You have had many recitals this year (and 2010).  It must be encouraging to you as a young performer.  Are you enjoying your travels?

It is definitely encouraging to have recitals in different cities and venues. Some of the places where I’m playing this past season I have been to before, but others are completely new to me. Other than playing the concerts, the most exciting part of this tour has been meeting new people and seeing new places. I even got to see the Grand Canyon when I played a concert in Flagstaff, AZ for the Grand Canyon Guitar Society. If I didn’t have a concert there, who knows when I would get a chance to visit the Grand Canyon. So, I’m definitely enjoying my travels very much!

What instrument are you touring with?

I play a 2003 arched top German Vazquez Rubio guitar. This is the guitar I’ve been playing for the last 7 years.

I have to ask about your teachers, Barrueco, Isbin & Goni.  Many of us can only dream of the opportunity to study with these great artists.  How was it like to be a student for the maestro(s)?

I have been very fortunate to have the opportunity to study with absolutely wonderful guitarists and musicians like Manuel Barrueco, Sharon Isbin and Antigoni Goni. Studying with them has been an incredible experience and I’ve learned so much in the course of my study with each of them, in terms of sound, technique, interpretation, musicality…  I grew up listening to their recordings and watching their videos, so to actually be able to study with them and hear suggestions and comments on my playing from artists that I absolutely admire has been invaluable to me.

I have read that you were involved in performances for New York City public schools.  Are you philanthropic by nature or was this an opportunity that just happened?

I never really thought of myself as philanthropic. However, I think as musicians/artists we all kind of have to be at least a bit philanthropic, since what we do, we do not only for ourselves, but to provide a pleasant experience for our audience. The public school performances that you mentioned were actually through the Educational Outreach at the Juilliard School. While I was at school, I was involved in a couple of outreach programs that brought music to the kids in New York City’s public schools. I think it is important to expose children to the arts early on so they can appreciate and enjoy it more and as they grow older perhaps have it as part of their lives.

I really enjoy your videos and look forward to hearing more from you in the future.  Any new projects in the works?

I don’t have any immediate plans for new projects, but I would definitely like to record my first CD in the next year or so. I will keep you posted when there are more concrete plans on future projects.

Program

Three Pieces from Argentina:

  • Danza en mi-moll, Jorge Morel (b. 1931)
  • Milonga, Jorge Cardoso (b. 1949)
  • Verano Porteño, Astor Piazzolla (1921-1992)

Dionisio Aguado (1784-1849)

  • Introducción y Rondo, Op. 2, No. 2

Agustín Barrios Mangoré  (1885-1944)

  • Valse, Op. 8, No. 3
  • Un Sueño en la Floresta

Regino Sainz de la Maza (1896-1981)

  • Andaluza

Isaac Albéniz  (1860-1909)

  • Sevilla from Suite Española, Op. 47,

INTERMISSION

Joaquín Turina (1882-1949)

  • Sonata, Op. 61 (Allegro,  Andante, Allegro Vivo)

Joaquín Rodrigo (1901-1999)

  • Invocación y Danza

Domenico Scarlatti (1685-1757)

  • Two Sonatas   ( K. 209 in A-major, K. 239 originally F-minor)

Johann K. Mertz  (1806-1856)

  • Fantasie Hongroise, Op. 65, No. 1

FaceBook

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

