In Review. Chaconne Klaverenga, March 14th Plymouth, IN.

Thanks to Chaconne for the quick interview.  It looks like a wonderfully entertaining set of music she performed in Plymouth.  El Decameron Negro and Koyunbab, quite the avant-garde selections.  Yet balanced nicely with the romantic Tarrega and classical Giuliani.  Hopefully we all can catch her in the upcoming months and for some time to come.

Set List

Prélude No. 1 Heitor Villa-Lobos(1887-1959)
Prélude No. 2
Prélude No. 3
Prélude No. 4
Prélude No. 5

EL DECAMERON NEGRO Leo Brouwer (1939)
El Arpa del Guerrero
La Huida de los Amantes
Ballada de la Doncella Enamorada

Grande Overture Mauro Giuliani (1781-1929)

-intermission-

Capricho Árabe Francisco Tarrega (1852-1909)

Variations on a Theme Op. 101 Mauro Giuliani (1781-1829)

Koyunbaba Carlo Domeniconi (1947)

-encore: Una Limosna por el Amor de Dios by Augustin Barrios.

A quick Interview with Chaconne:

You have just finished your auditions. Congratulations. When will decision time be for you to choose which program to attend?

I have to send in my intentions by May 1st, I think.

In your concerts, how do you remain ‘in the music’ and free of distraction, especially in a setting with background noises?

The noise is something you just have to get used to and deal with. The more you perform the easier it gets. It’s useful to practice with some noise around, like opening the window to your practice room and playing with traffic noise.

Your repertoire is dominated by modern masterpieces with a spattering of romantic and classical. Which type of music / composers do you prefer?

I like anything that’s good. Some of the composers I like are Bach, Tchaikovsky, Rodrigo, Mendelssohn, and Rachmaninov. I like any kind of concertos.

Will we be seeing another CD soon or iTunes recordings?

There’s a guitar concerto being written for me and premiered with the Lafayette Symphony Orchestra next spring — so I’d like to have a new CD for that.

Hopefully there will be a video recording of an upcoming concert; anything in the works?

I have a few new videos from some of my audition recordings. You can find those on my YouTube site

I am enjoying my Chaconne Klaverenga forearm sleeve from Oasis; have you sold one million of them yet?

Haha, I have no idea how many I’ve sold, but I’d like to know sometime!


  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

